(850) 482-9633

2864 Madison St,
Marianna, FL 32448

Disaster Preparedness: Florida Sales Tax Holidays

Banner image declaring Disaster Sales Tax Holiday in Florida

On May 7, Governor Ron DeSantis signed House Bill 7073 into law, extending the Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday to two separate 14-day periods! Take advantage of this opportunity to prepare for hurricane season without paying sales tax on essential items.

2024 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday:

June 1 – June 14August 24 – September 6

Eligible Items Include:

  • Pet leashes, collars and muzzles costing $20 or less;
  • Flashlights, lanterns and pet beds costing $40 or less;
  • Batteries and weather radios costing $50 or less;
  • Coolers costing $60 or less;
  • Smoke Detectors costing $70 or less;
  • Tarps costing $100 or less; and
  • Generators costing $3,000 or less.

A full list of tax-free items is available at FloridaRevenue.com/DisasterPrep

The Division of Emergency Management encourages residents to stock a disaster supply kit that can last the entire household, including pets, for at least seven days. The Division’s complete disaster supply kit checklist is available for download at FloridaDisaster.org/Kit